Soundwoofer Reactions – Jörgen Kristensen

by | Dec 17, 2019 | Post from Product Developer | 0 comments

Jörgen Kristensen plays the guitar for Swedish death metal band “Dead Awaken” and was invited to Rocksta Sound Ranch to record his rig and have Impulse Responses made for his specific sound. This gave him an opportunity to try our library of Impulse Responses for the very first time, talk about thoughts and opinions regarding Soundwoofer’s Service and how the digital option sounds to a old-school metalhead.

About Dead awaken. 

Current lineup

  • Jörgen Kristensen – Guitars & Vocals
  • Rasmus Hamrin – Drums
  • Fredrik Gustafsson – Bass

Dead Awaken started out in the spring of 2002. The members were: 

  • Andreas “Adde” Backström – Guitar
  • Joakim Edlund – Drums
  • Jonas Lindberg – Guitar
  • Andreas “Fluff” Morén – Vocals 

The band was missing a bass player, but those army boots were soon filled by former ABHOTH guitarist/vocalist Jörgen Kristensen. 

Some gigs were played as a 5-piece and a demo was recorded, before there was time for a change. Jörgen switched to his main instrument(s) – Guitar & vocals. Jonas had to leave the band, on good terms. Andreas Morén switched to bass and backup vocals. 

D.A kept gigging and entered the Gothenburg Deathfest bill, in 2005. On the bill were among others Aborted and Insision. Soon after this show Adde decided to step out, due to a lack of interest in the genre. A few shows were played as a 3 piece before adding guitarist Attila Hollsèn to the line up. Only a couple of gigs were played with this line up, before original drummer Joakim left. Without a drummer, the band was in state of limbo for a few months.

In early 2007 Jörgen’s old bandmate Mats “Masse” Blückert entered Dead Awaken and intense rehearsing began. May 2007 the band went back onstage at local Festival Mälarrocken, with killer acts like Behemoth. Unfortunately this ended up being the last show with Attila, who left for personal reasons. A couple of guitarists were auditioned, before deciding that enough damage was done as a 3-piece. Not letting the change stop the tank, we went straight back into the trench and kept gigging. A few shows were done with Vomitory, before entering the studio to record the debut album. During the recording, in the fall of 2010, the band decided to part ways with long term bass player Andreas. He wanted to focus on his other band Bleeding Utopia. Determined to not let this slow us down, Jörgen did all the guitar, bass and vocals in the studio.

After all the studio work was done, a deal was secured with Abyss records. Continuing as a 3-piece with session bass players Magnus Wall/ Jonas Stålhammar (Both former ABHOTH members), the road was hit again. After a number of well received demos, it was time to declare war upon the world, with the debut album “Where hope turns dripping red”. The debut album was released in April 2013 and recieved top notch reviews. In August 2013, we welcomed our first full time bass player in years, Fredrik Gustafsson. Songwriting for the follow up album begun and a few shows were played. April 2015 saw the departure of drummer Mats Blückert. In search for a new drummer, things halted for a year. 

Jörgen finally took the step of making a home studio, to keep up the songwriting. In early 2016 the band begun jamming with a promising young drummer. Rasmus Hamrin had been a friend of Jörgen for many years and things really clicked. He was announced the new full time drummer of Dead Awaken in May and in August he played his debut show in Finland. With a lot of new energy and hunger, we’re looking forward to recording our second album!

Source; Dead Awaken

His Impulse Responses can be found on the link below!

Share This